Additionally, paste this code immediately after the opening tag:

Whistleblower Leadership Council

The Whistleblower Leadership Council's members are distinguished whistleblowers, leading advocates for increased whistleblower protections and experts in whistleblower law. The Council provides advice to the National Whistleblower Center and recommends whistleblower issues or cases to the NWC for support. 

Please, share this page
Stephen M. Kohn

Stephen M. Kohn is one of the nation’s leading whistleblower attorneys. A founding director of the NWC, he is the author of eight books on whistleblower law, including The New Whistleblower’s Handbook: A Step-by-Step Guide to Doing What’s Right and Protecting Yourself (Lyons Press, 3rd Edition 2017). He is a practicing whistleblower attorney and serves pro […]

Jane Turner

Jane Turner was a highly decorated, 25-year veteran Special Agent with the FBI. She served in the most difficult investigatory positions and was the first women named as the head of an FBI resident agency. She led the FBI’s highly successful programs combating crimes against women and child sex crime victims on North Dakota Indian […]

Dr. Frederic Whitehurst

Dr. Frederic Whitehurst is a former FBI scientist who “blew the whistle” on misconduct within the FBI crime lab, resulting in extensive reforms being made. He was America’s first successful FBI whistleblower. His case exposed forensic fraud in the FBI crime lab and subjected it to outside oversight for the first time. In 1997, Kohn, […]

Reverend L. William Yolton

Rev. L. William Yolton is the Executive Director, Emeritus, of the Center on Conscience and War, former chair of the Human Rights Committee at the Northern Virginia Mental Health Institute, and the former co-chair of the Coalition for Virginians with Mental Disabilities.

Bradley Birkenfeld

Bradley Birkenfeld is a former international banker and wealth manager with UBS. In 2012, Mr. Birkenfeld made history when he obtained the largest whistleblower reward ever given to an individual whistleblower in the twenty-five year history of federal qui tam or whistleblower reward laws, for reporting IRS Tax Fraud. The award was obtained by attorneys from the law firm […]

Bunnatine Greenhouse

Bunnatine Greenhouse stood alone in opposing the approval of a highly improper multi-billion dollar no-bid contract to Halliburton for the repair of Iraqi oil fields. In retaliation for her courage she was removed from her position as the highest-ranking civilian contracting official at the Army Corps of Engineers. After a prolonged and highly contentious legal […]

William Sanjour

For over 25 years, Mr. Sanjour was among the most effective EPA whistleblowers. In Sanjour v. EPA, he challenged rules restricting EPA workers right to speak to environmental community groups.  The court ordered a nationwide injunction upholding the First Amendment right of federal employees to criticize their agencies. One of the lead whistleblowers in the Reagan […]

Dr. Aaron Westrick

Dr. Aaron Westrick was the research director for America’s largest body armor company – Second Chance Body Armor – and was the first official to oppose the sale of bulletproof vests made with Zylon fiber. Based on his disclosures, these defective vests were forced off the market and police officer’s lives were saved. Dr. Westrick […]

Donate Today