

# NATIONAL Whistleblower day —— 2018 ——

DIRKSEN SENATE OFFICE BUILDING Washington, D.C. July 30, 2018 "RESOLVED, THAT IT IS THE DUTY OF ALL PERSONS OF THE UNITED STATES, AS WELL AS ALL OTHER INHABITANTS THEREOF, TO GIVE THE EAR-LIEST INFORMATION TO CONGRESS OR ANY OTH-ER PROPER AUTHORITY OF ANY MISCONDUCT, FRAUDS OR MISDEMEANORS COM-MITTED BY ANY PERSONS IN THE SERVICE OF THESE STATES, WHICH MAY COME TO THEIR KNOWLEDGE."



First U.S. whistleblower law, unanimously passed on July 30, 1778 by the Continental Congress

## HONORED WHISTLEBLOWERS IN ATTENDANCE

Akousa Ageyman • Hap Barko • Mary Ellen Belding • Yolanda Bell • James J. Bobreski • Mary Bozoyan • Michael Carey • Joseph P. Carson • Kathy Cole • Carol Czarkowski • Rhetta Daniels • BJ Davis • Julia Davis • James DeNofrio • Brian Donlon • Caroline Douglas • Matthew Fogg • Jacqueline Garrick • Karen Geddes • JW Grenadier • Tanya Hathaway • Annamarie Jones • Ronald Kavanagh • Brian Kinter • Michael Kirwan • Dale Klein • Robert Kobus • Andrew Kreig • Jack Levine • Susan Lindauer • Michelle MacDonald • Robin Marcato • Sherri Marquis • Arthuretta Martin • Michael McCray • Daniel P. Meyer • Kelly Miller • Jeffrey Monsour • Arlene Mullin • Marrita Murphy • Barbara Newman • David Nolan • Mechele Parker • Nancy Paul • Jason Piccolo • Francesco Portelos • Marcel Reid • Dan C. Richardson • Michael Sandknop • Sandra Schenkat • Andrew Scollick • Neil Shelton • Gerald Smith • Linda Tripp • Jane Turner • John Tye • Frank Vetro • Christopher Vichiola • Tanya Ward Jordan • David Weber • Walter Wenger • Aaron Westrick Sheila White • Frederic Whitehurst • Kenneth William • Stephen Zanowic

> We celebrate all other whistleblowers who combat fraud, corruption, and injustice.

— ABOUT —

National Whistleblower Day commemorates the bold vision of our Founding Fathers and their un-compromising support for whistleblowers.

This year marks the 240th anniversary of America's first whistleblower law, passed on July 30, 1778. The law was passed after ten whistleblowers reported wrongdoing and abuses committed by a superior officer in the Continental Navy.

Today, National Whistleblower Day celebrates the the courage of those raise their voice in the name of combatting fraud, corruption, and other crimes, even in the face of great adversity, and the strength of their conviction and dedication to the truth.

## — SPEAKERS —

SENATOR CHARLES GRASSLEY Keynote Speaker R-Iowa

> JANE TURNER Master of Ceremonies Whistleblower

MICHAEL E. HOROWITZ Inspector General, Department of Justice

STEPHEN M. KOHN History of National Whistleblower Day Author, The New Whistleblower's Handbook

> DR. AARON WESTRICK Whistleblower

DR. GINA GREEN Co-Chair, Board of Directors National Whistleblower Center

DANIEL M. ASHE Former Director of U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service President & CEO Association of Zoos & Aquariums

> BETH ALLGOOD U.S. Country Director International Fund for Animal Welfare

> > GRETCHEN PETERS Executive Director The Satao Project

#### REP. MADELEINE BORDALLO Video Address D-Guam

DAVID K. COLAPINTO General Counsel, National Whistleblower Center

TRISTAN LEAVITT Principal Deputy Special Counsel, Office of Special Counsel

DANIEL P. MEYER Former Executive Director for Intelligence Community Whistleblowing & Source Protection

MICHAEL D. KOHN Partner, Kohn, Kohn & Colapinto

> LINDA TRIPP Whistleblower

DEAN A. ZERBE Senior Policy Analyst National Whistleblower Center

DR. FREDERIC WHITEHURST Closing Remarks Whistleblower

Speaker list does not necessarily reflect order of *appearance*.

For a complete, up-to-date program please visit: www.whistleblowers.org/NWD2018 "We are ready to hazard everything that is dear & if necessary, sacrifice our lives for the welfare of our country, we are desirous of being active in the defense of our constitutional liberties and privileges against the unjust cruel claims of tyranny & oppression ..."

## $\star \star \star$

Petition dated February 19, 1777 written to the Continental Congress by America's first whistleblowers

## NATIONAL WHISTLEBLOWER Center

### **Board of Directors**

Dr. Gina Green and Dr. Frederic Whitehurst, Co-Chairs

## Leadership

Michael D. Kohn, President Stephen M. Kohn, Executive Director Mary Jane Wilmoth, Chief Operating Officer David K. Colapinto, General Counsel Scott A. Hajost, Managing Director, Wildlife Program Dr. Mark Toney, Director Dean A. Zerbe, Senior Policy Analyst Jane Turner, Director

#### Staff

Maya Efrati, Legal Fellow Aaron Jordan, Legal Fellow Julia Malleck, Communications Fellow

## **Special Thanks**

Caroline Buthe, Kelsey Condon, Michael Ellis, Jacob Gardner, Arthur Kohn, Ben Kostyack, Ana Popovich, Nicholas Powinka, Todd Yoder, Xiaojing Zeng

Additional thanks to our volunteers and everyone else who made this event possible.



@National Whistleblower Center

@StopFraud

National Whistleblower Center

Contact

3238 P St. NW, Washington, DC 20007 contact@whistleblowers.org www.whistleblowers.org 202 342 1903