National Whistleblower Day Global Whistleblower Rights Programming to Be Held on Wednesday, July 28th

National Whistleblower Day Media Advisory
Please, share this page
National Whistleblower Day Global Whistleblower Rights Programming to Be Held on Wednesday, July 28th

MEDIA ADVISORY

National Whistleblower Day 2021 will be the largest whistleblower event ever. This year’s celebration will span three days from July 28 to July 30, highlighting international whistleblower rights, useful resources, whistleblower advocates, and high-profile speakers.

WASHINGTON, D.C. | July 21, 2021 — National Whistleblower Center (NWC) will host a day of virtual panels and speakers on July 28th, 2021 focused on “Global Whistleblower Rights,” highlighting whistleblowers and whistleblower advocates from around the world and addressing the subject of international whistleblowing leading up to National Whistleblower Day, which is on Friday, July 30th.

Featured panels will discuss essential topics such as the implementation of the European Union (EU) Directive requiring all EU countries to enact whistleblower laws by the end of 2021, the state of whistleblowing in Australia and the United Kingdom, and the role international whistleblower advocates play in promoting whistleblower protections worldwide.

The event will highlight intriguing Whistleblower Stories from Apple whistleblower Thomas Le Bonniec, and “Lucifer’s Banker” UBS whistleblower Bradley Birkenfeld. Additionally, Professor of Economics at SITE-Stockholm School of Economics Giancarlo Spagnolo will give a speech presenting data that demonstrates a strong link between whistleblower rewards and effective deterrence of fraud and crime worldwide.

July 28th’s programming will run throughout Wednesday, starting at 7AM EST, which is 9PM AEST in Sydney, Australia, 12PM BST in London, United Kingdom, 1PM CEST in Berlin, Germany, and 7PM CST in Shanghai, China.

RSVP for National Whistleblower Day 2021 for updates and to join the event. For information on promoting National Whistleblower Day, check out the NWC Social Media Toolkit for prompts, posts, and NWC social media handles. And be sure to follow us to catch teasers and giveaways leading up to the event.

Watch the National Whistleblower Day 2021 trailer here. Donate to support National Whistleblower Day today.

For more information, please contact Nick Younger at nick.younger@whistleblowers.org.

Report Climate Crimes